TRACTATENBLAD

VAN HET

KONINKRIJK DER NEDERLANDEN

JAARGANG 1953 No. 22

Overgelegd aan de Staten-Generaal door de Minister van Buitenlandse Zaken

A. TITEL

Internationale Overeenkomst betreffende de regeling van de productie en de afzet van suiker, met bijbehorend Protocol; Londen, 6 Mei 1937

B. TEKST

De tekst van Overeenkomst en Protocol is afgedrukt in Stb. 1938 No. 13.

- C. VERTALING
- D. GOEDKEURING
- E. BEKRACHTIGING
- F. TOETREDING

Zie Trbl. 1952 No. 21.

G. INWERKINGTREDING

Zie Trbl. 1952 No. 21.

De Overeenkomst is bij het hierna onder J vermelde Protocol van 30 Augustus 1952 verlengd tot 1 September 1955, met dien verstande dat zij buiten werking zal treden zo voordien een nieuwe overeenkomst zou worden gesloten, en dat de Hoofdstukken III, IV en V, alsmede enige bepalingen van artikel 31, geschorst blijven.

H. TOEPASSELIJKVERKLARING

Zie Trbl. 1952 No. 21.

J. GEGEVENS

Zie Trbl. 1952 No. 21.

De akte van bekrachtiging van het Protocol van Londen van 31 Augustus 1951 door de Verenigde Staten van Amerika, voor wie genoemd Protocol onder voorbehoud van bekrachtiging werd ondertekend, is op 2 Augustus 1952 bij de Regering van Groot-Britannië en Noord-Ierland nedergelegd.

Op 31 Augustus 1952 is een Protocol tot stand gekomen, waarvan de Engelse tekst luidt als volgt:

Protocol for the prolongation of the International Agreement regarding the Regulation of Production and Marketing of Sugar signed in London on 6th May, 1937

Whereas an International Agreement regarding the Regulation of the Production and Marketing of Sugar (hereinafter referred to as "the Agreement") was signed in London on 6th May, 1937;

And whereas by a Protocol signed in London on 22nd July, 1942, the Agreement was regarded as having come into force on 1st September, 1937, in respect of the Governments signatory of the Protocol;

And whereas it was provided in the said Protocol that the Agreement should continue in force between the said Governments for a period of two years after 31st August, 1942;

And whereas by further Protocols signed in London on 31st August, 1944, 31st August, 1945, 30th August, 1946, 29th August, 1947, 31st August, 1948, 31st August, 1949, 31st August, 1950 and 31st August, 1951, it was agreed that, subject to the provisions of Article 2 of the said Protocols, the Agreement should continue in force between the Governments signatory thereof for periods of one year terminating on 31st August, 1945, 31 August, 1946, 31st August, 1947, 31st August, 1948, 31st August 1949, 31st August 1950, 31st August, 1951 and 31st August, 1952, respectively:

Now, therefore, the Governments signatory of the present Protocol, considering that it is expedient that the Agreement should be prolonged for a further term as between themselves, subject, in view of the present situation, to the conditions stated below, have agreed

as follows:

Article 1

Subject to the provisions of Article 2, paragraph 2 of Article 3 and Article 5 hereof, the Agreement shall continue in force between the Governments signatory of the present Protocol for a period of three years after 31st August, 1952.

Article 2

During the period specified in Article 1 above the provisions of Chapters III, IV and V of the Agreement and those provisions of Article 31 thereof which limit the number of members of each delegation and the number of advisers accompanying each delegation shall be inoperative.

Article 3

- 1. The Governments signatory of the present Protocol recognise that revision of the Agreement is necessary and should be undertaken as soon as the time appears opportune. Discussion of any such revision should take the existing Agreement as the starting-point.
- 2. In the event of an agreement based on such revision coming into force before 31st August, 1955, the present Protocoll shall thereupon terminate.
- 3. For the purposes of such revision due account shall be taken of any general principles of commodity policy embodied in any agreements which may be concluded under the auspices of the United Nations.

Article 4

Before the conclusion of the period of three years specified in Article 1, the contracting Governments, if the steps contemplated in Article 3 have not been taken, will discuss the question of a further renewal of the Agreement.

Article 5

Notwithstanding the provisions of Article 1 hereof any Government signatory of the present Protocol may withdraw from the Agreement on 31st August, 1953, or at any time thereafter, by giving six months' notice of withdrawal to the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which shall notify any such withdrawal to the contracting Governments and to the International Sugar Council.

Article 6

The present Protocol shall bear the date 30th August, 1952, and shall remain open for signature until 30th September, 1952, provided, however, that any signatures appended after 30th August, 1952, shall be deemed to have effect as from that date.

In witness whereof the undersigned, being duly authorised thereto by their respective Governments, have signed the present Protocol.

Done in London on the 30th day of August, 1952, in a single copy which shall be deposited in the archives of the Government of

the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and of which certified copies shall be furnished to the signatory Governments.

For the Government of the Union of South Africa:

(sd.) A. L. GEYER

For the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia:

(sd.) THOMAS WHITE

For the Government of Belgium:

(sd.) OBERT DE THIEUSIES

For the Government of Brazil:

(sd.) JAYME SLOAN CHERMONT

For the Government of Cuba:

(sd.) ROBERTO G. DE MENDOZA

For the Government of Czechoslovakia:

(sd.) JOSEF ULLRICH

For the Government of the Dominican Republic:

(sd.) THEMISTOCLES MESSINA

For the Government of the French Republic:

(sd.) R. MASSIGLI

For the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland:

(sd.) ANTHONY EDEN

For the Government of Hayti:

(sd.) LOVE O. LEGER

For the Government of the Republic of Indonesia:

(sd.) SUBANDRIO

For the Government of Mexico:

(sd.) FRANCISCO A. DE ICAZA

For the Government of the Netherlands:

(sd.) W. J. G. GEVERS

For the Government of Peru:

(sd.) A. PONCE

For the Government of the Republic of the Philippines:

(sd.) MARIANO EZPELETA

For the Government of Poland:

(sd.) JERZY MICHALOWSKI

For the Government of Portugal:

(sd.) LUIZ LEOTTE DO REGO

For the Government of the United States of America:

(sd.) WALTER S. GIFFORD

Subject to Ratification

For the Government of the Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia:

(sd.) B. ZLATARIĆ

Uitgegeven de zeven en twintigste Februari 1953.

De Minister van Buitenlandse Zaken a.i., J. LUNS.